Berry Tart Watercolor

While on vacation in Quebec, I did this quick watercolor of a berry tart that I had baked.  The small spikes on the skin of the strawberries are missing.  That’s something I will add with some stippling.  Also, I discovered, working in color, that “blue” is not just blue and “red” is not just red.  I noticed that the tart as painted is not perfectly “round”, as it wasn’t so when I baked it.  I’m not sure if this watercolor fully captures its tastiness, the lusciousness of the berries, their shininess from the apricot glaze.  The table cloth is not done yet, either.  Eventually, it will have a subtle pattern.  Controlling ‘flow’ of water and paint is really crucial in watercolor.  It is nothing like drawing with color (or even watercolor) pencils.  I enjoy the challenge, though.

This entry was published on September 2, 2012 at 3:58 pm. It’s filed under Watercolors and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

