Girl in Blue Jacket

Girl in Blue Jacket_adjI don’t do many portraits, but am very attracted to peoples’ faces, so plan to do more.  Based on a photo taken by my watercolor teacher of an artist’s model who posed wearing a dark jacket, this watercolor was an ambitious effort for me.  Getting the skin tone, shading and conveying the jacket without actually “painting” it was  hard, but, ironically, also a great a pleasure.  I guess I like the struggle of manipulating and controlling water on a brush and keeping my colors on my palette at the ready for every potential disaster.  I think one key point about this type of watercolor painting is that just when you think it’s done, to go further is to mess things up!  Fortunately, in this case, I think I left well enough alone.  The jawbone area, however, is one area where I probably did too much tinkering, and thus had to blot away extraneous colors to avoid the inevitable backwashing.  Backwashing can be a great technique; but not when it’s unintended!

This entry was published on April 26, 2014 at 11:22 pm. It’s filed under Watercolors and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

